BUNYORO-KITARA KINGDOM - Royal Supreme Council / Orukurato Orukuru orw’Obukama bwa Bunyoro-Kitara

From the beginning of the Kingdom of Kitara, there was a supreme legislative council which legislated subject to the approval of the Omukama. It was called “Orukurato Orukuru orw’Obukama bwa Bunyoro-Kitara”. It consisted of one representative from every Sub-County in the kingdom. In addition to the representative councillors, other members of the Orukurato were the coronet wearers, “Abajwarakondo”.

The Abajwarakondo were very important and respectable citizens having been appointed by the Omukama in recognition of their heroic deeds, especially during war time. They were identified and given special recognition by the king by making them wear an identifying head gear, a string of beads around their necks as a sign of distinction in society.

The Abajwarakondo’s homes were an equivalent of a royal court of some kind; is very effectively represented in Orukurato Orukuru orw’Obukama bwa Bunyoro-Kitara, since each of the more than 20 Sub-Counties sent representatives.

9 Counties: Bugahya, Buhaguzi, Bujenje, Buruuli, Kibanda, Buliisa, Bugangaizi, Buyaga, Buyanja